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Interpretive Notice & Formal Opinion (“INFO”) #3C: 
Tips (Gratuities) and Tipped Employees Under Colorado Wage Law 

Overview: This INFO covers how Colorado law protects “tips” that employees receive, as well as how and 
when employers can pay “tipped employees” less than full minimum wage. Key definitions: 

● “Tipped employee”: An employee regularly receiving over $1.64 per hour in tips. 

● “Tip” (or gratuity): A customer payment in any form (cash, credit, electronic, etc.) for goods or services that 
is voluntary, i.e., above the required payment, and discretionary as to what, if anything, the customer pays. 
Tips are earned and vested as soon as paid by customers, and must be given to employees timely without 
forfeiture, like any wages or compensation.1 

Employers Paying “Direct Wages” under Minimum Wage Based on a “Tip Credit” 

● Wages that employers pay tipped employees are called their “direct” or “cash” wages. Direct wages can be 
less than full minimum wage by up to $3.02, an amount that’s called the employer’s “tip credit”:2 

Year 
Colorado 

(if no local minimum 
wage applies3

) 

Denver 
(since 1/1/2020) 

Edgewater 
(as of 1/1/2024) 

Boulder County 
(as of 1/1/2024; only 

unincorporated areas4) 

2024 $14.42 
($11.40 w/ tip credit) 

$18.29 
($15.27 w/ tip credit) 

$15.02 
($12.00 w/ tip credit) 

$15.69 
($12.67 w/ tip credit) 

2023 $13.65 
($10.63 w/ tip credit) 

$17.29 
($14.27 w/ tip credit) 

n/a n/a 

● Key limits on when employers can use tip credits to pay direct wages below the full minimum wage:5 

1) Employers can’t pay less than $3.02 below full minimum wage, no matter how high tips are. In 2024, 
that requires at least $11.40 ($15.27 in Denver) in direct wages, even if tips are (for example) $20 per hour. 

2) Employers can’t claim tip credits for workers who do not earn enough in tips to qualify as tipped workers. 
As of January 1, 2024, tipped employees must receive at least $1.64 per hour in tips. 

Example 1: A coffee shop receives $400 in tips over a weeklong pay period. It pools those tips and 
distributes evenly based on hours worked among all staff (except managers), since all interact regularly 
with customers. Its non-managers are 4 part-timers who work 25 hours, and 4 full-timers who work 40 
hours, per week — for a total of 260 hours worked in the week. That means the coffee shop is 
distributing $400 in tips across 260 hours, so employees are receiving $1.54 per hour in tips. Since tips 
do not exceed $1.64 per hour in the week, the coffee shop cannot claim a tip credit in that pay period. 

5 Some limits are from tips law, others from law that minimum wage exceptions are interpreted narrowly. C.R.S. §§ 
8-6-102, 103(6); COMPS Order, 7 CCR 1103-1, Rule 8.7(A). 

4 The Boulder County minimum wage applies only to areas not in “incorporated” cities or towns; see INFO #19 for details. 

3 For a list of all local minimum wages in Colorado, and details on how to apply them, see INFO #19. 

2 For updated Colorado minimum wages, see Publication And Yearly Calculation of Adjusted Labor Compensation (“PAY 
CALC”) Order, 7 CCR 1103-14, Rule 1.2, and Colo. Const. Art. XVIII, § 15; as to local minimum wages, see INFO #19. 

1 C.R.S. §§ 8-4-101(14)(a)(II) (“‘wages’ or ‘compensation’” include “[a]ll amounts for labor or service performed,” 
regardless of how the amount is set, as long as “earned, vested, and determinable”); 8-4-103(1) (“All wages or 
compensation ... earned” must be paid timely); 8-4-103(6) (employer cannot “claim ... or control” gratuities); 8-4-121 (no 
waiver or modification of Wage Act rights). Tips may still be pooled among tipped employees, as detailed below. 

INFOs are not binding law, but are the officially approved Division opinions and notices on how it applies and interprets various statutes 
and rules. The Division continues to update and post new INFOs; email cdle_labor_standards@state.co.us with any suggestions. To be 
sure to reference up-to-date INFOs, rules, or other material, visit ColoradoLaborLaw.gov. Last updated December 12, 2023 
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3) Employers must pay enough in direct wages for total pay, with tips, to reach full minimum wage in 
each workweek. If an employer pays direct wages below full minimum wage, but tips end up too low to 
raise total pay to full minimum wage, then the employer must make up the difference in direct wages.6 

Example 2: In 2024, a non-Denver employer paid direct hourly wages of $11.40. Tips raised total pay 
above full minimum wage ($14.42). One week, tips drop to $2.00 per hour, making total pay $13.40, 
which is $1.02 below full minimum wage. The employer must make up the difference, by adding $1.02 
per hour in direct wages, in the pay period for the week with lower tips. 

Example 3: If the job in Example 1 is in Denver, direct hourly wages in 2024 must be at least $15.27 
($3.02 below Denver’s $18.29 minimum), or higher if tips are under $3.02. If tips drop to $2.00 per hour, 
the employer must raise direct wages to $16.29 ($2.00 below full minimum) to make up the difference. 

4) Employers can’t claim tip credits from mandatory charges. The tip credit allows direct wages below full 
minimum wage only if “tips” make up the difference. Mandatory charges, like a 20% “service charge,” aren’t 
“tips,” because customers can’t choose whether and how much to pay. They’re just part of a service or 
good costs; a $10 sandwich plus a 20% service charge is a $12 sandwich. However: 

a) Employers can use service charges to fund employee wages, but not for a “tip” credit allowing direct 
wages below full minimum wage.7 

b) If an employer communicates that automatic charges goes to (for example) servers (e.g., calling it a 
“gratuity,” a synonym for “tip” in wage law), then they’re still service charges, not tips, but they’re “wages 
or compensation” the server must be paid — because the employer agreed the amount goes to the 
server, satisfying the “wages or compensation” definition, and impacting customers tips.8 

5) Employers can’t claim tip credits if they take away or divert tips. That means employers: 

a) can’t make tipped employees share tips with non-tipped employees — often called “tip pooling,” or 
“tipping out” other staff — like managers or “back of house” staff who do not perform significant 
customer service in contact with patrons (cook, dishwasher, etc.);9 and 

b) can’t keep any tip funds as employer revenue, which is unlawful even if it claims no tip credit — 
see below (“Limits on Sharing (Pooling, Tipping Out, etc.) or Diverting Tips ...”). 

6) Employers in jurisdictions with local minimum wages may have further restrictions in applying the tip credit. 
For example, Denver, Edgewater, and Boulder County limit tip credits only to food and beverage workers.10 

10 See INFO #19. 

9 COMPS Order, 7 CCR 1103-1, Rule 1.10. An “employer loses its ... tip credit” if it “requires tipped employees to share tips 
with (1) employees who do not provide direct customer service or (2) managers.” Shahriar v. Smith & Wollensky, 659 F.3d 
234, 240 (2d Cir. 2011) (citing Myers v. Copper Cellar, 192 F.3d 546, 550-51 (6th Cir. 1999) (“Because the salad preparers 
abstained from any direct intercourse with diners, worked entirely outside ... [diner] view ... , and solely performed ... food 
preparation or kitchen support ... , they could not be validly categorized as ‘tipped employees’ .... [For] shifts in which 
salad mixers were included within the tip pool, the pooling ... was illegal; thus each employee ... compelled to contribute ... 
[was] entitled to payment of the full ... minimum wage for all work ... [in] those shifts.”)). 
Those not directly tipped still can qualify if their direct customer interactions impact tips — for example, bussers may 

help servers by clearing tables, and hosts may “sufficiently interact with customers” to generate “undesignated tips” if they 
“greet customers, supply them with menus, seat them at tables, and ... ‘enhance the wait.’” Id. at 550; U.S. DOL Field 
Operations Handbook, Ch. 30, 30d04. 

8 Under the Wage Act, “wages or compensation” include “[a]ll amounts for labor or service performed,” regardless of how 
the amount is set, as long as “earned, vested, and determinable.” C.R.S. §§ 8-4-101(14)(a)(II). 

7 Accord 29 C.F.R. §§ 531.52, 531.55(a) (“A compulsory charge for service, such as 15 percent ... , is not a tip and, even if 
distributed by the employer to its employees, cannot be counted as a tip ... in applying [tip credits] .... Similarly, where ... 
banquet facilities include amounts for distribution to employees ... , the amounts so distributed are not counted as tips....”). 

6 COMPS Order, 7 CCR 1103-1, Rule 6.2.3. 
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Tip Credits for Employees Working in Both Tipped and Non-Tipped Roles: Tip credits can apply to all 
hours of those doing a mix of tipped and non-tipped work only under two conditions. 

1) The non-tipped work must “directly support” the tipped work. 11 For example, for restaurant servers, 
non-tipped work “directly supporting” tipped work: 

a) includes refilling condiments, making coffee, table setup or cleaning, or idle time awaiting tipped work; 

b) does not include bathroom or kitchen cleaning, maintenance, or window-washing; and 

c) does not include food preparation, except for workers who, after preparing food, directly serve it to 
customers, such as at a sushi bar, a bar, or an ice cream counter.12 

2) The non-tipped work must not take a “substantial” amount of time, which means it must be: 

a) not more than 20% of the tipped employee’s weekly hours — the traditional “80/20 rule”; and 

b) not more than a half-hour continuously — because doing non-tipped work that long is a departure 
from the tipped job into a non-tipped job.13 

Example 4: Several restaurant servers spend 10% or 30% of their time on various non-tipped duties. The 
table below shows when a tip credit can and can’t apply to their work: 

1) Does the non-tipped work 
“directly support” 
tipped work? 

2) Is the non-tipped work 
time “substantial”? 

(2) Is non-tipped work 
time “substantial”? 

(2) Is non-tipped work 
time “substantial”? 

a) 10% of work time, not 
over 30 minutes at once 

b) 10% of time, in several 
1-hour periods 

c) 30% 
of time 

Al refills 
items on 
tables 

(ketchup, 
salt, etc.) 

✔Directly supports tipped 
work, so tip credits 
can apply to non-tipped 
work that isn’t substantial 

✔ Tip credit for all hours: 
(just 10%, and not 30 
continuous minutes, 
isn’t “substantial”) 

✔ Tip credit for the 70-90% of time serving 
customers 

✘ No tip credit for the 10-30% non-tipped work: 
(non-tipped work for over 20% of time, or 30 
continuous minutes, is substantial) 

Bo 
cleans 
rest 

rooms 

✘Doesn’t directly support 
tipped work, so tip credits 
can’t apply to any 
non-tipped time 

✔ Tip credit for the 70-90% of time serving customers 

✘ No tip credit for any time on non-tipped work 

13 29 C.F.R. § 531.56(f)(4). The Division previously applied WHD’s 80/20 rule, and agrees with WHD’s elaboration that 
“substantial” non-tipped time also includes (even if not 20% of time) “continuous” time of over a half-hour on non-tipped 
work, as that amounts to performing separate, dual jobs — one tipped, one not. 86 FR 60114, 60138 (Oct. 29, 2021). That 
interpretation is consistent with existing law, e.g., Fast v. Applebee’s Int’l, 638 F.3d 872, 880 (8th Cir. 2011) (no tip credit 
for “nontipped duties performed during distinct periods of time, such as before opening or after closing”); Myers, 192 F.3d 
at 549 (“an employee who discharges distinct duties on diverse work shifts may qualify as a tipped employee during one 
shift, such as ... serv[ing] tables, but might not qualify ... on another shift ... perform[ing] maintenance tasks.”). 

12 29 C.F.R. §§ 531.56(f)(3)(ii), (5)(ii). 

11 29 C.F.R. § 531.56(f)(1)(ii). The Division and the federal Wage and Hour Division (“WHD”) previously used the term 
“related duties.” The Division agrees with WHD’s replacement of that term with “directly supports,” a term consistent with 
the term “related duties” but more precise, and that avoids the problem that ‘‘related” could be misinterpreted to include 
work only “remotely related to the tipped occupation.” 86 FR 60114, 60129 (Oct. 29, 2021). 
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Limits on Diverting or Sharing Tips 

● General requirements for valid tip sharing. An employer may require tipped employees to share tips — 
whether “pooling” tips, “tipping out,” etc. — if: 

(1) employees are told in advance that their tips will be shared, and how they will be shared (what 
calculations, and which employees), including any required employee contribution to a tip pool;14 

(2) customers are notified in writing that tips they leave will be pooled, in any way (a notice on a menu, 
a table tent, a receipt, etc.) that gives customers notice before they decide on any tip;15 and 

(3) employees receive at least full minimum wage in total pay, which can include tips from a lawful tip 
pool, up to the maximum tip credit (if any) allowed for the employee (see “Tip Credits,” above).16 

● Specific limits on sharing or diverting tips: 

(1) Employers may require tip sharing with untipped employees (cooks or dishwashers, etc.) — but if 
they do, then the employer: 

(a) can’t claim a tip credit — neither for the tipped nor the untipped employees, and therefore 

(b) must pay all employees at least full minimum wage in direct wages — i.e., tips provide no credit 
toward the full minimum.17 

(2) Employers may not use tips in any of the following ways — and if they do, they can’t apply a tip credit 
or tip sharing, and must pay full minimum wage as well as return any shared tips.18 

(a) to pay employees’ direct wages, rather than paying tips to those tipped employees; 

(b) to pay credit card processing fees or similar costs; or 

(c) letting an employer, manager, or supervisor share those tips.19 

19 C.R.S. § 8-4-103(6) (“unlawful for an employer ... to assert a claim to, or right of ownership in, or control over gratuities”); 
C.R.S. § 8-4-105; COMPS Order, 7 CCR 1103-1, Rule 1.10; 29 U.S.C. § 203(m)(2)(B) (“An employer may not keep tips 
received by its employees for any purposes, including allowing managers or supervisors to keep any portion ... , regardless 
of whether or not the employer takes a tip credit.”); 29 C.F.R. § 531.54(b)(1) (elaborating same rule). The “managers or 
supervisors” who can’t share tips are those whose duties match the federal “executive” exemption, even if they perform 
tipped duties when the tips are shared, such as filling in for servers out sick. 29 C.F.R. § 531.52(b)(2). Exception: “A 
manager or supervisor may keep tips that he or she receives directly from customers based on the service that he or she 
directly and solely provides.” 29 C.F.R. § 531.52(b)(2) (emphasis added). Supervisors or managers (but not owners who 
qualify as “employers” under C.R.S. § 8-4-101(6)) performing separate jobs, one tipped and one non-tipped, may 
participate in a tip pool only when performing the tipped job for the entire period during which tips are shared — for 
example, for a daily tip pool, the entire day; for a single-event tip pool, the entire event. 

18 COMPS Order, 7 CCR 1103-1, Rule 1.10; C.R.S. § 8-4-103(6); 29 C.F.R. §§ 531.54(c)(3),(d). 

17 COMPS Order, 7 CCR 1103-1, Rule 1.10; 29 C.F.R. § 531.54(d). 

16 COMPS Order, 7 CCR 1103-1, Rule 6.2.3. 

15 C.R.S. § 8-4-103(6) (“gratuities are the sole property of the employee unless the employer notifies each patron in 
writing, including by a notice on a menu, table tent, or receipt, that gratuities are shared by employees”). 

14 C.R.S. § 8-4-103(6) (employer can require tip pool only “on a preestablished basis among the employees”); McFeeley v. 
Jackson Street Entertainment, 825 F.3d 235, 246 (4th Cir. 2016) (employer violating duties “to pay ... the minimum wage 
set for those receiving tip income and to notify employees of the ‘tip credit’ ... cannot therefore claim the ‘tip credit’”). 
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Overtime Pay When Employers Claim Tip Credits 

● For work beyond 40 hours per week, or 12 per day or shift, employees must be paid overtime — one and 
one-half times their regular rate — under the COMPS Order, unless overtime-exempt.20 

● If a tip credit is allowed, the overtime rate is time-and-a-half of the full minimum wage (not time-and-a-half 
of the reduced minimum wage), and the tip credit lowers that rate up to $3.02.21 For example, in 2024: 

The minimum overtime wage that employers can 
pay, based on the minimum wage with a tip credit 

Colorado if 
no local minimum 

wage applies 
Denver Edgewater Boulder 

County 

Time-and-a-half of full minimum wage (in 2024): $21.63 $27.44 $22.53 $23.54 

With tip credit (up to $3.02 lower) (in 2024): $18.61 $24.42 $19.51 $20.52 

Required Recordkeeping 

● Employers must keep records of hours, pay, and tips — which includes recording any differences between 
tips left for an employee and tips paid to that employee, such as from tip-sharing (pooling, tipping out, etc.). 
COMPS Order Rule 7.1 requires employers to keep an “accurate record for each employee” that includes a 
“(C) daily record of all hours worked; (D) record of credits claimed and of tips; and (E) regular rates of pay, 
gross wages earned, withholdings made, and net amounts paid each pay period.”22 For tipped employees: 

○ A record of all “tips,” without any limitation, requires recording all tips left for employees, whether or not 
any part was shared in tip pooling, tipping out, etc. — e.g., all tips customers leave for their servers. 

● Employers are advised to keep such records on a daily or workweek basis. 

● If a tip is deemed to be equally for multiple persons (e.g., a collaborative restaurant service model of 
multiple staff serving one table), it must record only tip amount and which persons it was left for. 

○ A record of “gross wages earned” and “credits claimed” requires records of tips paid to a tipped 
employee — which may differ from tips left for the employee in the case of tip-sharing. 

● These records must be kept on a daily or weekly basis — weekly tip logs, nightly “tip out” sheets, etc. 

● A multi-week total of tips left and paid (a biweekly or monthly pay period, etc.) is not sufficient, as it 
lacks the daily or weekly tip amounts required to calculate a tip credit. 

● An employer must keep required records for cash tips — which generally won’t be documented on receipts 
— and tips that are otherwise documented (e.g., on credit card slips).23 Failing to keep such records may 
prevent employers from showing that a tip pool excludes untipped employees (e.g., cooks) who can’t be 
included without nullifying tip credits, or that tips weren’t illegally retained by an employer, supervisor, etc. 

23 Tax law already requires employees to report, and employers to record, all tips, including cash tips. IRS Publication 
1244 at 2 (employees “must report ... tips to your employer,” including “cash left”); IRS 2021 General Instructions for 
Forms W-2 and W-3 at 16 (employers must report “[t]otal tips reported by the employee to the employer” on W-2 form). 

22 COMPS Order, 7 CCR 1103-1, Rule 7.1(C)-(E) (subparts (A)-(B) require other information not related to hours and pay). 

21 “Employees shall be paid time and one-half of the regular rate of pay” (COMPS Order, 7 CCR 1103-1, Rule 4.1.1), and 
“[t]he regular rate includes all compensation paid to an employee, including ... minimum wage tip credits” (id. Rule 1.8.1). 

20 Example: salaried managers, paid at least the minimum amount for exemption, who mostly supervise others, may be 
exempt; some employer types have other overtime exemptions. See COMPS Order, 7 CCR 1103-1, Rules 2.2-2.5. 
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Remedies: Invalid tip pools and improper uses of tip credits each require remedies for workers affected. 

● Invalid tip pools. A tip pool is invalid if it: (a) does not notify customers that tips are shared; (b) is not on a 
pre-established basis; or (c) is shared with owners, managers, or supervisors.24 

○ To remedy an invalid tip pool, the employer must ensure that each employee is paid the amount of tips 
they originally earned in each workweek. This means the employer must return all tips paid into the tip 
pool to the employees who originally earned the tips. The employer must calculate, for each workweek, 
the amount each employee (a) paid into the tip pool during a workweek (contributions) and (b) received 
from the tip pool (distributions). The employer must then return to employees the amount of 
contributions less distributions for each workweek. If an employee’s distributions exceed their 
contributions in any given week, this amount does not reduce the total tips owed. 

Example 5: A valet service shares tips among tipped employees, but the employer collects and 
distributes tips irregularly, and has never established to employees how their tips are pooled, or to 
whom the tips are distributed. For example, in some weeks, 100% of tips are pooled; in others, only the 
first $50 of each worker’s tips are pooled. This tip pool is invalid because it lacks a “pre-established 
basis.” As a remedy, the valet must ensure that each employee is paid the amount of tips they originally 
earned in each workweek over the duration of the invalid tip pool. If an employee’s contributions and 
distributions in Week 1 were $200 and $100 respectively, and in Week 2 were $100 and $200 
respectively, the employee would be owed $100 for Week 1 ($200 – $100) and nothing for Week 2 
($100 – $200 is -$100, so the employee received more from the pool than was paid in). 

● Improper use of tip credits. If a tip pool is shared (a) with non-tipped employees, or (b) with owners, 
supervisors, or managers,25 then employers can’t claim any tip credit, and therefore owe full minimum wage 
to any employees included in that tip pool. 

Example 6: A restaurant pools tips among waiters and cooks. It gives notice to customers and 
discloses to employees the preestablished basis for the tip pool. The cooks have no direct interaction 
with customers, making them non-tipped employees. This tip pool is not invalid because it is on a 
preestablished basis, with customer notice, and no owner or manager participation. But the tip pool 
includes non-tipped employees, voiding any use of the tip credit, so the employer must pay each tipped 
employee the full minimum wage. If the employer had claimed a $3.02 tip credit for its waiters, then it 
owes each waiter $3.02 for each hour worked over the duration of the improper tip credit. 

Example 7: A restaurant claims the full $3.02 tip credit for its waiters, and it shares tips between 
waiters and shift managers. Because managers are included in the tip pool, this is both an invalid tip 
pool and an improper use of the tip credit, requiring two remedies: 
(1) Because the tip pool is invalid, the employer must ensure that each employee is paid the amount of 
tips they originally earned (contributions less distributions, for each workweek). 
(2) Because the tip credit was improperly used, the employer owes full minimum wage to each tipped 
employee, so it must pay them $3.02 for each hour worked over the duration of this improper tip credit. 

Complaints: Employees can file complaints (INFO #2 explains the process), in the Division or court, if they are: 

○ denied any wages or compensation — including tips — they are owed; 
○ paid based on a tip credit an employer couldn’t legally claim (e.g., from service charges instead of tips); 
○ made to contribute to an invalid tip pool; or 
○ paid less than $3.02 under full minimum wage. 

For More Information: Visit the Division website, call 303-318-8441, or email cdle_labor_standards@state.co.us. 

25 COMPS Rule 1.10; C.R.S. § 8-4-103(6); 29 C.F.R. §§ 531.54(c)(3), (d). 

24 C.R.S. § 8-4-103(6); 29 U.S.C. § 203(m)(2)(B) (“An employer may not keep tips received by its employees for any 
purposes, including allowing managers or supervisors to keep any portion of employees’ tips, regardless of whether or not 
the employer takes a tip credit.”). 
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